The Lancashire Chess Association 2015 Junior Chess Championships were held on Saturday 7th February 2014 at Holy Family High School, Heywood.  The age group champions were:

2015 Lancashire Junior Championships2015 Lancashire Junior Championships
U18   David Jinks
U15   David Jinks
U14   Charlotte Melvin
U13   Charlotte Melvin
U12   Holly Jacobson
U11   George Harman
U10   Benjamin McGrath
U9   James Segarajasinghe
U8   Joe Birks

Blackpool & Fylde's Silver Queen 2014With one player having travelled down from Windermere, the competition looked set for a keen tussle with nineteen players battling for the Queen's 79th annual appearance.

This was a very strong line-up with many times winner Brett Lund making a return to try and wrest his crown back from the 2013 winner, Roy Ellames.


The Lancashire Chess Association 2014 Junior Chess Championships were held on Saturday 8th February 2014 at Holy Family High School, Heywood.,  The age group champions were:

2014 Lancashire Junior Championships2014 Lancashire Junior Championships
U18   Jordan Lewis
U15   Nugith Jayawarna
U14   Holden Davis
U13   Mark Power & Calvin Robinson
U12   Harvey Wright
U11   Haydn Choi
U10   Samuel Berry
U9   Siena Choi
U8   Ivan Jones

LCA LogoThe 2013 Lancashire Junior Championships were held on Saturday 6th July 2013 at Holy Family High School, Pot Hall, Wilton Grove, Heywood, Lancashire, BB1 1SE.

In the ECF National Schools Girls Team Championship Northern Semi Final held at Cheadle Hulme School on Saturday 16th February 2013, the U11 winners were Aughton St Michaels 'A' Team. The team consisted of Lauren Cornwell, Eleanor Rowlinson and Charlotte Melvin. They didn't drop a point with an impressive 15 points out of a possible 15 to ensure their place in the final in Uppingham in July. Aughton St Michaels 'B' Team also played well but just missed out on a final place.